What do I do first? Pay debt, save money, or invest?

6 Replies

Hello! I am a total noobie here. I just started listening to the Bigger Pockets Money Podcast and I am intrigued by this idea of financial independence! I am ready to take a real look at my spending and reduce my monthly costs. My question is this- what do I do first with the money that I save from cutting my expenses? My current situation is this: I have been living paycheck to paycheck my whole life (so has my parter). I am in my early 40s. I started an IRA 2 years ago and that has about 12k in it. That is the extent of my savings. I do not own anything. I have no investments. I have 22k in tax debt and about 70 in student loans. My partner has about 50k in student loans. I have the opportunity to work more (I am self employed) and also to cut expenses. I could probably come up with at least $1000 a month, maybe more by doing this. What should I do with the money first? I have been looking to consult with someone on this but I am not even sure who to ask. I was wondering if I should make an appointment with someone at a bank?

Thanks in advance for your help!

@Lindsay Ferlin I see this is your first post so welcome to BP.

Part of the answer depends on you and your commitment and discipline. 

First I would build up some cash reserves for emergencies. Put it i a separate account and forget it is there. Then I would start paying off debt.  Keep in mind that paying off debt at 10% has the same affect on your net worth as earning 10% on your money. If you tax debt is IRS then you are paying about 9% between both the interest and the penalty. 

When you are behind the ball as you are, Dave Ramsey is a good guy to follow. He is the best when it  comes to getting out of debt. Once you are out of debt, I don't think Dave is the best for growing your investments.