Skip to content
Buying & Selling Real Estate

User Stats

Votes
Keith White
  • Investor
  • Salisbury, MD
Votes |
Thinking about a buying in a sector I'm not used to, advice wanted.

Keith White
  • Investor
  • Salisbury, MD
Posted Jul 10 2015, 09:55

First to begin with just wanted to give a quick backstory about myself. I am a beginner flipper in Md and have only done houses in the first time home buyer price range for my area ( $130k-$160k). Due to the fact I have never approached a bank or looked into other means of funding (which will be a whole different topic i need to post about and get info) I have financed my flips with cash. So in doing this I am limited with the amount of money I can work with at a time. 

All of that being said I recently have been looking into a near by market that is filled with older Victorian homes that are in rough shape and in a prodomently rental filled area with few home owners. The area is desired because of the school district but the homes have been let go. I'm thinking about making a move on a couple of properties that are side by side, one is a corner lot the other has a empty field next to it. So If I could get both properties and renovated them they will be a little more isolated from the nearby homes. The ones I'm looking at I could get for around 30k a piece with needing roughly 25k a piece in renovation cost to get to where I would want them.  Looking at comps I do think they could bring in 80-90 once renovated. I am just not used to this price range as it is well below what I'm used to so the type of market I'm going for I'm unsure of.