Buying Outside of the NYC Metro Area

24 Replies

Hey all,

I'm new to investing and have been looking for 2-4 family properties within the NYC area but a lot of the properties are greater than the down payment (60K) I'm willing to put down and don't seem to have good cash flow in rental income. There seems to be slim pickings in Brooklyn or Queens. Does anyone know any areas outside of NYC area  (30 mins-1hr) that would have good cash flow?

Thanks

I just bought a two-family in Cypress Hills, Brooklyn using a loan program called NACA. They don't require any money down.

The real problem in Brooklyn is that you need to pay cash for any properties in upcoming neighborhoods like Bushwick or Bed-Stuy

Hi Jermaine,

60K is nothing to sneeze at! Well done in saving that amount. You could try going an FHA route or a 203k route in getting a multifamily in Ocean Hill or Cypress Hill area. I have a realtor contact that is very keen on those areas. He says FHA/203k is not super preferred in NYC but it is still possible.

There are a lot of people talking about New Jersey on BP as well, specifically Union City and West New York, NJ for multifamily.

I'm personally looking at Stamford and Norwalk in Connecticutclose to their respective downtowns and public transit. If you hustle you can probably get a property for around $350k and rent it out to some young professionals.

Hope that helps!

James, tell me more about the NACA program. I looked it up briefly but can you give a breakdown of how it works?

Jersey City is very hot these days, as is Newark and pretty much all of those surrounding areas. I would look anywhere up and down parts of North Jersey that borders NYC or not too far away. 

Brooklyn and even a lot of Queens these days are very over priced. Everyone there seems to be buying on spec assuming large appreciation (unless I'm missing something). 

north Newark Jersey city east Orange