Florida after hurricane, not a sellers market?

3 Replies

So I have been rehabbing houses for a few years and I have never had a problem selling my houses as I don't overprice them and would rather sell quickly. I am a realtor so I do put everything on MLS and all other usual outlets (Zillow, Redfin etc) I don't think my issue is the quality of the work or the design as I use the same crews and the same palettes on the same types of homes I hAve always done. I haven't changed my formula therefor I just can't figure out what is going on as my houses aren't even being shown. As a realtor I can't say I am up to date with current processes nor do I work for a big company that provides classes.

Is anyone else experiencing issues with days on market or lack of showings since the hurricane? Is it just me? 

The hurricanes really disrupted the market here in Jacksonville. We had severe flood damage for properties located on the river and the streams. Many businesses in San Marco were also effected, some plan to be closed for many months. Closings were also pushed back and many deals cancelled for homes due to the severe flooding. 

There will be an influx of new homes, from the flood damage, that should come on the market by Spring, people not willing to deal with rising water (which was caused by the NE winds, high tide and winds that pushed water back into the river from the ocean). 

In Florida, 1 Billion bucks was given away by FEMA regarding people's food in vouchers. The lines here in Jacksonville were incredible. The first day they changed the giveaway to show only certain groups per day, last names that began with A-F, G-K, etc. It was crazy. So many people have been effected, and continue. It will take a while, just as they did last year with Matthew.

and September things were extremely slow but we are back to normal now

Not far from your area saw this: much less population on beach and restaurants but lots sales which we didn’t see during past few years.