Benifits and downfalls of seller financing

19 Replies

What are the up and downs of seller financing?

I'm thinking about asking a seller if they are interested in holding the mortgage, but I know I will need to educate them and myself on the topic.

I have no experience with seller finanacing.

Erik, really, right side of the header, the magnifying glass, that's the search function. Enter "benefits of seller finance", you'll find over a thousand of posts.

Your question could fill a book. Read some and target more specific questions, we'll jump on them. :)

Medium logoscopiccroppedblue2Bill Gulley, General Real Estate Academy | https://generalrealestateacademy.com

Yes, I will start a search. Figured I would get the discussion going. Ill be back

Seller financing is probably most likely to be a win-win situation where the owner is house rich, but doesn't have a particularly high income.  In that situation, the owner turns the asset that requires maintenance into an income stream.

With low interest rates available even for investment properties, seller financing isn't usually a huge incentive.

How about tax benefits for the mortgage holder?

Yes, the biggest incentive to a seller is that the gain on the sale is deferred. Interest earned is regular income. Interest can be higher than what they could otherwise get. They have an annuity income, secured by a property they know well.

Do not pay more for the property for financing, financing does not add value to a property.

Search for loan servicing and select a servicer to administer the loan.

You get a cheaper loan, no points can be charged or other expenses to obtain the financing that will effect the APR.

If this is consumer financing, owner occupied, Dodd-Frank may apply. :)

Medium logoscopiccroppedblue2Bill Gulley, General Real Estate Academy | https://generalrealestateacademy.com

@Bill Gulley