New to this, Is it worth it to get a real estate license?

3 Replies

Hi all! 

My name is clint and I am just getting started in real estate investing. This is new to me but I'm confident i can be successful in this business and I'm excited to become part of the bigger pockets community. My plan is to get my real estate license, i figure It will help me not only sell my houses i fix and flip but also give me a good understanding of real estate. Also want to get into rentals. Is it worth getting a real estate license? Maybe you guys can give me some insight on this. I just recently sold my house and made some good money on it, part of which I would like to use to help start investing in real estate the other part to buy me another primary residence. I am open to any suggestions and advice ! Just ordered "The book on flipping house" as well as "The book on estimating rehab costs." Thanks ahead for any input! 

@Clint Olsen Yes. It is a good education, you get to pull comps that are extremely accurate, and you get access to the courthouse retrieval system, so all tax cards, absentee owners, etc. 

The downside is you have to disclose, you will carry more liability as an agent because you're supposed to go about business morally, ethically, and legally. You will also incur extra costs such as MLS access, continuing educatino, E and O insurance, maybe broker overhead.

You also need to find a broker that understands investing and is ok with assignment, double closings, fix and flips. 

Hey @Clint Olsen , great job jumping in and introducing yourself!

As a new member one of the best pieces of advice I received was to setup some "Keyword Alerts" to get into conversation in your target area. It’s a great way to narrow down the site to what interests and benefits you most.

Looking forward to learning with you on BiggerPockets!

-Kyle