New Member in the Tupelo/Oxford MS communities

10 Replies

My name is Casey Barickman and I am new to REI. I reside in the Oxford MS area and work in Tupelo MS. I work in Research and Development at a MS university. I want to work my way into REI by starting out with SFR and working my way to into small multifamily units. However, I have a lot to learn and looking forward to meeting and networking with people not only in the area but all over the country. I hope to have a couple of properties under my belt by the beginning of next year.

Hey Casey. Welcome to BP. I live in the Tupelo area and love Oxford. I am a Ole Miss Alum. I am new to Real Estate as well. I would be interested in getting a meetup started in our area so maybe we can get something together.

Glad to have a fellow Rebel on BP.

Hotty Toddy

That sounds great Peter! Even if it is just a couple of people, at least it's a start. How about after the holiday? I will have more free time. I can meet up anytime later in the week or weekend.

@Casey Barickman I have a few realtor friends in Tupelo who you should reach out to and tell them what you are interested in. They will give you sound advice and are true professionals. I recommend reading and listening to podcasts as well as youtube. Epic Real Estate investing podcast is really great information. This is the most expensive time in a decade to get into real estate, especially in Oxford. Look at smaller communities within the county for better pricing. Be an owner, not a flipper. There is always a strong rental market in your area. I grew up in New Albany. Message me for the two agents that I know and consider friends. 

Thank you @Jenny Moore and @Anthony Dooley for the nice welcome to the B.P community. I appreciate all the great advice on diving into the education on the site. I have been listening to as many podcast and books that I can get my hands on.