Newbie from Worcester, MA looking to get into rentals

17 Replies

Hi everyone!

I am a newbie to the real estate game, and currently looking to get into rental properties.  My initial goal is a 3 or 4plex, but I am hoping to build my portfolio relatively rapidly.  I am a scientist in Cambridge right now, and I would really like to have more job flexibility so I don't need to commute 4 hours a day!  Current area of interest is Worcester and surrounding areas up to about an hour's drive, although that is flexible for the right property.    I would love to meet more people in real estate, and I plan to attend as many local events as I can. I am also interested in learning more about the wholesaling process, and would love to talk to folks doing that.   I am looking forward to learning as much as I can from the bigger pockets website and from all of you.   Thanks and take care.

Worcester is a great rental market.  Make sure you know what you are buying.  The city like many cities changes street by street as do the quality of the tenants and the rents.  Make sure you do your due diligence and take your time prior to purchasing anything.

Originally posted by @Brian J Allen :

Worcester is a great rental market.  Make sure you know what you are buying.  The city like many cities changes street by street as do the quality of the tenants and the rents.  Make sure you do your due diligence and take your time prior to purchasing anything.

Hi Brian,

Nice to meet you and thanks for the tip.  I am pretty familiar with the city currently, but I have been driving the streets and going to a lot of open houses to get an even better sense of neighborhoods and the general atmosphere in certain sections.  There are some areas that are a definite no-go for me, but there seem to be quite a few nice opportunities out there too.  Do you own any properties in Worcester?