Newbie from Tuscaloosa, Alabama

9 Replies

My name is Sam Key, and I am a senior at the University of Alabama majoring in Finance with a specialization in value investing (GPA: 4.0).

I was born and raised in Northwest Alabama, but plan to stay in the Tuscaloosa/Birmingham part of Alabama. I have no previous experience in investing in RE, but I plan on buying my first rental property while I finish up school. After college I would like to grow my portfolio of rental properties through a series of partnerships with other investors. Long-term I want to start my own construction company and use my experience in RE and raising funds to syndicate big commercial properties.

I found BiggerPockets through the podcast. I have been a long time subscriber to the podcast, but have never participated on the website until today. I look forward to being apart of this forum and building long-term relationships with likeminded individuals.

Thanks in advance for your advice and comments,

Sam Key  

Hey man, go talk to my best friend from High School -- Grant Holley. He goes to Bama now, and he helps me run my wholesaling and rental property investing business. Don't be afraid to start young - I started it 4 months ago when I was still 19 ... full time student and SEC football player. You can do it! 

Originally posted by @Will Clark :

Hey man, go talk to my best friend from High School -- Grant Holley. He goes to Bama now, and he helps me run my wholesaling and rental property investing business. Don't be afraid to start young - I started it 4 months ago when I was still 19 ... full time student and SEC football player. You can do it! 

Hey Will,

I am sorry I just now am seeing this. I have been caught up with applying to jobs, school, and family these last few months and have not had the chance to get on BP. Is there any chance I could get your friend's contact information? I'd love to talk with him and you about your experience and earn from you.

Thanks in advance,

Sam Key