• Palos Verdes Peninsula, CA
Votes |
Planning my first deal with a partner, but needing guidance

Gaston Barua
  • Investor
  • Palos Verdes Peninsula, CA
Posted May 4 2016, 19:50

Hello Fellow Investors!

I am quite new to the REI game, but am very excited and motivated to get my first deal going. I am in a bit of a tricky situation and don't have the experience right now to confidently pick a path to follow with regards to my situation and my first deal.

Option 1) I am looking to buy a property with a partner at the moment, however we live in Southern California where properties tend to be quite expensive. My partner and I are in the process of saving for a down payment. We spoke to my lender and he suggested that we look into getting a multi family property via FHA loan and live in one of the units. This however, would limit potential cash flow as well as limit the options we would have because we need to BOTH be able to live on the property and still rent out the other units. Not to mention that the small down payment for the FHA plus PMI etc would be a cash flow killer right off the bat.

Option 2) The other option we are considering is investing out of state (i.e. Texas) due to the bang for your buck I have observed in properties out there. However, that would take away the option for an FHA loan since we cannot live in the property. This would be ok though because prices there are so reasonable we could get a conventional loan more than likely (Ive heard if you can even get 5% of a down payment you should consider a conventional loan). The down side to this of course would be that we would need to find a good PM company, and the distance would make it difficult/ risky to manage.