My name is Sophia Brown and i'm a newbie.

6 Replies

Hello, my name is Sophia this is my first time being in a discussion. I'm just starting out and want to step out into the real estate world. I must say i am nerveous,have anyone starting out  felt this way?

The first step is always the toughest. You look back years later at a feeling of pride for doing and accomplishing what most people still wish they would do in life.

The key is that when you are looking at  a property for your first one that you BUY RIGHT and by putting questions here it should help to see some things you might not have the experience for yet.

BP members have given some new investors great info to help keep from buying some horrible deals before. 

@Sophia Brown  

Welcome. Everyone experiences fear starting out remember FEAR is False Evidence Appearing Real. Time to build the foundation below.

Check out the Start Here page http://www.biggerpockets.com/starthere

Check out BiggerPockets Ultimate Beginner's Guide - A fantastic free book that walks through many of the key topics of real estate investing.

Check out the free BiggerPockets Podcast - A weekly podcast with interviews and a ton of great advice. And you get the benefit of having over 80 past ones to catch up on.

Two Great reads, I bought both J. Scott The Book on Flipping Houses,The Book on Estimating ReHab Costshttp://www.biggerpockets.com/flippingbook

Locate and attend 3 different local REIA club meetings great place to meet people gather resources and info. Here you will meet wholesalers who provide deals and all the cash buyers (rehabbers) you will need.

Consider checking out HUD homes for small multi's owner occupied gets first crack.

You might consider Niche or Specialized Housing like student housing. Rents can be 2-4 times more. Remember you don't have to own a property to control it.

Download BP’s newest book here some good due diligence in Chapter 10. Real Estate Rewind Starting over