Sean McCrory
  • Spring, TX
Votes |
Looking for a strategy

Sean McCrory
  • Spring, TX
Posted Dec 19 2015, 23:45

So here is the rub my fellow BP'ers.

I work in the oil and gas industry. More specifically I work offshore on rigs in the Gulf of Mexico. I will typically spend about 8 months of the year offshore. That is 7 days a week and 12 hours a day if not more sometimes. The problem is further exacerbated by the fact that when I get home I am also working a minimum of 40 hours in the shop getting the next project ready to ship offshore..... That is 8 months of time away from home. Away from my own bed. And as of this year away from my wife. I am not ready for it to be 8 months away from my family once we have a kid. Also included in these 8 months are birthdays and holidays and other special events that I miss on a regular basis. For instance... this year I missed Thanksgiving and will be on this rig through Christmas and New Years. Not trying to drum up pity by any means, I chose this life my wife is ok with it and I make a pretty good living by doing it. The reason I bring this up is to show my motivation to get out of this and into something that will keep me home.

I am currently one class away from being able to take my state exam and will have that completed before I make it back to land. More than likely it will be done by tomorrow night.

My job really limits me on what I can do since the internet connections are usually slow and lagging and phone time is limited out of courtesy of everyone else out here wanting to call there families.