• Wholesaler
  • San Diego, CA
Votes |
Follow me through a deal (hopefully!)

Kyle C.
  • Wholesaler
  • San Diego, CA
Posted Jul 12 2010, 12:12

I have learned a lot through these forums and people have spent a great deal of time helping me learn the processes with little in it for themselves. This is my chance to give back to the beginners (I still am, too!) and hopefully learn more from the veterans as well! Additionally, I want to use this thread to keep me encouraged to not give up on a deal when I hit a road block :D

Disclaimer: Through this thread, I would like to have the chance to walk through a deal from beginning to end, in detail, and ask questions along the way. After going through this forum quite a bit i felt that it is in lack of prior due diligence that goes into a deal. I see a lot of "is this a good deal", "should I buy this property", which is great, but as a beginner, I want to know how they got that opportunity at this great (or not so great) deal.

To start, I am a college senior going into finance and entrepreneurship. I have little capital (4,000-7,000) and no debt. I have began building my buyers list (3 people, lol) and networking. I think I want to get into wholesaling or birddogging or possibly buy the property myself if I could find a lender. We'll see where the deals bring me, I guess!

ON TO THE FIRST POTENTIAL DEAL!!

Today, I decided would be a good day to take a drive around Minneapolis and look for properties that seem to be deserted or vacant for two reasons:
1. It has been very rainy lately, so it would be much "easier" to spot houses that are unattended with longer grass and weeds.
2. I noticed that phonebooks were delivered about 2-3 weeks ago, so any still outside (in bright yellow bags) is a pretty good sign that people aren't around.

Well, my first potential property was found by noticing weeds growing over the steel fence and a phone book outside, still.