What is the best software for landlords managing 125 units?

2 Replies

@Scott Neudecker This depends on what features your looking for. Myself, personally, I did not want a cloud based program because they carry a monthly expense. I chose Tenant File which you can purchase for a fixed cost. The program is robust and has everything you would need as far as printing checks, reports, P&L, balance sheets, etc. This is truly the only program I have ever tried and found it highly recommended by some colleagues. Much older kind of program FYI. Like it looks like something from Windows 95 but works great - don’t mistake it. I have heard of Buildium, Cozy, and AppFolio. I have no experience with them but did review heavily before committing to TF. Once again, biggest drawback on the latter program is they are cloud based and carry a monthly fee that I just didn’t want.

This is a common question but there's no perfect answer. My recommendation is for you to sit down with pen and paper, or a spreadsheet, and analyze every task you do in a given month. Then determine how much time you spend on each task in one month.

For example, I started out using Microsoft Money 2004. When I received rent, I had to receive it in the tenant's ledger then pay it out to the owner. Then I went to the owner's ledger to receive it and pay it out. Receiving rent, paying a vendor, paying the owner...it all required duplicate steps and was very time-consuming. I had to use a different system to track contact information for owners, tenants, and vendors. And work orders were tracked on a printed spreadsheet. It was very inefficient and those were my three largest issues. I looked for a software that was capable of handling these three things without a steep learning curve. I tested the top five software programs and settled on Buildium which was perfect for my needs and great for my budget.