New investor wanting to BRRRR

13 Replies

Hi, allow me to introduce myself. My name is Richard Kalnitz. I'm a medical instrument technician currently working for Roche Diagnostics and living in the Fox Lake IL area. In addition to that I am a Real Estate investor working with a partner named Chad Trautsch who is the owner of a computer and IT services company in Prairie Du Chien Wisconsin. We are cash investors looking for distressed properties. We have no fear of property issues like foundation, roof, tuckpointing, windows, ect. For us it is all in the numbers working out, not the size or scope of work needed. Our goal is to rehab properties for cash and put them in rental portfolio. Ultimately refinancing them and moving on to the next project.

We have been looking in the Dubuque IA area for property to BRRRR but are willing to consider other areas too. We would love to hear any thoughts or recommendations on great areas near us to invest in or even a specific property to check out. Thanks in advance for any help or just saying hello.

Hi @Richard J. Kalnitz , first of all, take a moment to congratulate yourself for getting on bigger pockets and looking for answers. I can't speak to the Dubuque market, but if you are interested in Chicago or suburbs, check out the Straight Up Chicago Investor podcast or our website which has a ton of resources as well.

There are a ton of great areas within a 30-45 minute drive from you, so my suggestion is getting involved in real estate groups on facebook and local real estate meetups. Telling as many people as you can what you're looking for too and once settling in on an area hooking up with a broker who can be a crucial ally to you.

Welcome to the BiggerPockets forums @Richard J. Kalnitz !  I love the scope of interest you gave for properties, keep connecting and would love to see an update on your progress down the line.