Hello from Newbie living in Spain, back to NC this summer!

9 Replies

Hello All!  I'm so happy to be a part of Bigger Pockets!

I have been living in Utrera, Spain (outside Seville) for over 10 years now.  My husband is a piano professor and I'm an English teacher to Spanish kids and adults.  My husband and I met when I studied abroad during college. ;)  Our 3 kids have been born here. 

After reading Rich Dad I started looking online about real estate investing.  I stumbled upon a Canadian website, and later on Brandon Turner's other website for younger investors, and then to Bigger Pockets a couple weeks ago.  What a great website this is!  

We own our house here in Spain, but it is under water - housing crisis victim.  Hopefully we can rent it when we leave to go towards the mortgage, and someday sell it....

I own a house free and clear in Pleasant Garden (Greensboro) North Carolina.  I have a renter now so we're getting our feet a little wet, but we will be moving back into that house this summer (hopefully if our teaching jobs there work out.)

I love learning, and I've started my real estate education that will hopefully become our primary source of income someday.  I've been reading BP blogs, listening to podcasts and webinars, reading the Ultimate Beginners Guide, reading the articles that are tweeted daily, etc.   

When we are back in NC we want to meet some folks and start networking to see if we can start wholesaling, and buy and hold, or flip, and our ultimate goal is to build new construction  of well-built modern-style, very energy-efficient houses with some types of renewable energy.  (We're big dreamers!)  

Thank you all for reading, and I look forward to virtually meeting you and to continue learning and starting to network!  Muchas gracias!

Un saludo, 

Amanda Cook

@Amanda Cook  

Welcome. Time to build the foundation and legacy below. Consider locating sources of private money while over there.