Newbie from Fort Worth, TX

5 Replies

Hi guys!

My name is Logan Woody, and I am new to BiggerPockets and real estate investing. I graduated from the University of North Texas (UNT) in May 2018 with a BBA in Finance, and I started my first full-time job as a commercial credit analyst in June. During my time in college at UNT, I had the pleasure of taking two real estate courses with professor John Baen. He sparked an interest in real estate in me, and I have been educating myself since. I am currently reading "Rich Dad, Poor Dad" and have been listening to the podcasts constantly.

For the most part, I am interested in residential single-family homes to begin with. I will have extra savings due to my low expenses and have been contemplating ways to invest it, and I always seem to come to the conclusion of real estate investing. My end goal is to have a passive income stream that will, one day, become big enough to where it can cover my expenses entirely. Hopefully, through the amount of research, time, and effort that I put into this, I can meet enough people and develop enough connections to become successful in this business. Happy to be here!

@Logan Woody Welcome! You are definitely off to a great start and if you JUST graduated college - you're in a good position to get your real estate investing career started. About 4-5 years ago I found RDPD and it forever changed my life - and now I do real estate full time as a career! It's been amazing and has allowed me to live a life that I've always dreamed of.

What's your current rent/living situation? Sounds like your expenses are pretty low - but starting off with a house-hack MFH or a SFH that you can purchase and rent out rooms would be a terrific step forward.

I definitely suggest you keep watching podcasts, reading books, and learning as much as you can - because the knowledge you will learn will forever shape your future!

Originally posted by @Kenneth McKeown :