Newbie Investor from Northern Virginia

12 Replies

All,

This is a fabulous community. I came across this via trusty Google and talking to a colleague who has been investing in RE for a few years. I have attended a few webinars and went Pro a few days back. I am new to REI and just going through education content on here.

My goal is to invest in two rentals before the end of 2020. Interested in meetups (when this social distancing lightens up a bit) in the Washington DC and Northern Virginia area to connect with seasoned investors and explore if I can find deals in the area. If not, I may have to start looking in the more reasonable parts of Virginia and Maryland or maybe even NC. David Greene's book is my next read.

Thank you in advance.

@Mateen Qureshi welcome to Bigger Pockets. This is indeed an excellent platform for both new and seasoned investors.

You will learnt a lot. It is going to be interesting what post COVID19 Real estate world looks like for the DMV area. We were going through one of the best seller's market when this virus hit. We still have an active market but in time some things will shift. Happy reading. 

welcome @Mateen Qureshi to BP!

I'm in the same boat like you. Started educating myself into REI back in January and been trying to read as much as I can and listen to podcasts. I was able to attend couple meetups before the outbreak.

I also live in NOVA and I find the market very expensive for my budget so I analyzed couple other nearby markets (Baltimore, Harrisonburg and Richmond) and decided to focus on Richmond VA. I put my plans on hold for now to see how things will go and hopefully will find my first deal before the end of this year.

I would love to know more about your plans and I can share my findings and bounce ideas.