• Twin Cities, MN
Votes |
First time rehabber

Norton Lam
  • New to Real Estate
  • Twin Cities, MN
Posted May 27 2023, 14:55

Hi,

I am new to rehabbing/flipping. I found an as-is property that looks to be about 30% undervalued, but it has clothes, furniture and other belongings left behind as well as a kitchen (gross floor, no cabinet doors) and bathroom that needs major work. Wondering if someone would be willing to help me decide whether it is a good investment opportunity. Thanks in advance!

User Stats

Votes
Eliott Elias#3 BRRRR - Buy, Rehab, Rent, Refinance, Repeat Contributor
  • Investor
  • Austin, TX
Votes |
Eliott Elias#3 BRRRR - Buy, Rehab, Rent, Refinance, Repeat Contributor
  • Investor
  • Austin, TX
Replied May 27 2023, 15:49

What is your criteria? Do not shop around for deals if you do not know what you are looking for. Determine your rehab budget and factor in closing costs with selling the property. 

User Stats

Votes
Andy Sabisch
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Wilkes-Barre, PA
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Wilkes-Barre, PA
Replied May 27 2023, 19:05
Your statement "looks to be 30% undervalued" raises a red flag.  What are you basing  that estimate on?  If you are not sure what the reno will cost or what the ARV actually will be, the 30% undervalued is a SWAG (scientific wild-*** guess) at best.  

As Eliott said in the previous reply, you need to be sure of what you are looking for in order to know if you have found it when you come across a property.  We come across good deals on a regular basis but to be honest, many are simply not in our wheel house and not what we want to add to our portfolio (flip or rent).  But we know what our model is and look for those deals.  The rest we pass on and often contact fellow investors that are looking for specific deals as well and it fits what they want . . . we all help each other as our models are different but well-defined.