I have $250k, best way to invest it?

4 Replies

I'm brand new to this and am interested in what you guys think the best way to invest this money would be. I'm leaning towards paying cash for a rental property or two. What is best low risk option to invest so I can quit my job asap? Thanks for the help.

@Casey Caspers Welcome to the group.  There is a TON of info here on BP.  My recommendation is to spend 1 month researching the major ways to invest in real estate.  Pick which one you want to pursue and then spend 6 months - 8 months researching that way to invest.  After you have chosen your investment strategy, and while you are researching 6-8 months on how to do it, also research your market.  Finally, find a local Real Estate Investment Association and start going to their meetings and asking questions.   Finally, notice how I did not mention spending any of that money yet?  New investors with high amounts of cash is a very bad combination that can quickly lead to failure.  Please make sure you do your research first before taking action. 

As Ryan said it isn't a quick process especially if you want to have a low risk option. Going out and buying a property or two in cash likely wont get you very close to being able to just quit your job. If you were getting 10% on your investment (all cash) that only comes out to 25k a year. However, in real estate you can take advantage of leverage and if you take your time and learn you can make that 250k go a lot further.

Another quick thing that many people will add is having a W-2 job makes a ton of things in real estate significantly easier, like getting loans from banks.

Ali beat me to it :)

It depends on what your current regeneration of capital is monthly and what your burn rate number is.

For example if you make 600,000 a year and use your 250,000 to put down on some investment properties then with your job or business income you can regenerate that 250,000 in a shorter amount of time to invest again.