40K/yr to invest: Pay down home OR buy more

11 Replies

Hey there! 

TL;DR:

I'm 29, have 40K to invest per year, but don't think I should "buy high." I'm not confident I'll get great deals on houses in this market. Should I just pay down my own mortgage for now, use my house as a savings account, and leverage it to buy rental homes when the economy dips? Or should I just get started buying houses? 

More detail:
I have a salary of $70K that I live on. Two months ago I bought our first house ($250k, Austin, TX, via FHA). I'm new to being employed, having run my own business (graffiti art, colorcartel.com) since I graduated from college 4 years ago. But even employed, I've been able to continue making money with my murals at the same rate. So I've decided to live on my salary, and dedicate $40k/yr of my art income to investing. If I just pay down my own mortgage, would it be easy to leverage this to a buy a house or two when we have our next recession? Or should I just suck it up and try to find good deals now?

Thanks!
Andrew

@Andrew Horner predicting economic swings is way above my pay grade and near impossible in my opinion.

I know people in Austin that are still buying cashflowing rentals, despite what everyone's mailman says is possible. Areas surrounding Austin still have stock available and there are plenty of opportunities. I'd say the likelihood that the metro area continues to grow south and you see some appreciation is pretty high, but still buy for cashflow!