Losing money on condo - sell or rent/hold

21 Replies

Hi All,

Definite newbie question here as I'm just starting out my RE journey and taking a lose on my first purchased property.

I purchase my condo in San Diego about 1 year ago and I just rented it out starting this September for a 1 year lease so I can move back home with my parents and save up for a flip or a BRRR.

I purchased the condo for 310K and my monthly mortgage/HOA/expense total is $2,269 and my tenant pays $1,850 a month along with utilities. So I'm losing $419 a month. Basically, I'm about to refinance which would save ~$100 dollars per month off my mortgage, but I would still be losing ~$300 dollars a month on it while I'm back living with my parents and saving.

So my two options are to either hold onto the place and take the 400 dollar a month loss and sell it immediately next August or continue with the refinance, save $100 a month on it, and hold onto the place for at least 3 years so the refinance would be financially viable.

Either way I'm taking a loss with my first stumble into real estate, and this condo definitely feels like a huge obstacle in terms of how much I can save.

Thanks all for any input or advice

When it comes to investing, there’s only 1 rule ... “don’t lose money”.

Do whatever it takes to abide. 

First off, how did you end up in this debacle? Secondly, Marci is right....never lose money! But on a serious note....my thought is to kick that tenant out immediately and either raise rent to at least break even or Airbnb it and most likely cash flow positive. Where is the condo located in SD? 

Hm yeah all really good points.

Ha and yeah it is quite the debacle. I was so excited about buying my first place with having no prior real estate knowledge and receiving so so advice.

Ultimately, its my fault for not researching and planning, but its in Mission Valley in SD.