1st time private lender for commercial real estate. Need advice QUICK!!

11 Replies

I am completely new to REI "NEWBIE" ALL THE WAY, so I have my concerns with a lending opportunity. I asked the developer how is he going to secure the loan so that I am guaranteed the return of my principle? I was told that I will be covered with money from his hard money lender... Not sure how it's all going to work I'm researching now, I just want to know what documents I need to have signed to guarantee my loot back? Is a promissory note enough? It's an opportunity to invest in a commercial property that is being converted to residential space. Any tips will be helpful! I like the developer and think it's a good deal, just want to be smart about it...

I see a few RED FLAGS. That means stop. Your title says "...Need advice QUICK!!" and that leads me to wonder if you are being pressured. If so, that is a bad sign. Two quick questions: Is there an attorney representing you as lender in this transaction? and Have you done any legitimate due diligence in this transaction? As a private lender myself (via SDIRA), I always want to be in front of any issues... and a YELLOW flag causes me to stop to figure out what part(s) of the process have gone awry.

Being a motivated lender is as bad as being a motivated buyer. Worse, actually. Because if you move forward, you are not as in control as the person you lent your money to.

Legal help for people in your position is very inexpensive if not 'free' to you. The borrower should cover your legal expenses for making sure you are covered and protected. If not, another RED FLAG.

Originally posted by @Ginger A.:

I asked the developer how is he going to secure the loan so that I am guaranteed the return of my principle? 

You are never guaranteed that your principal will be returned, Ginger, but you can maximize the probability of being paid back.