Networking opportunities in Grand Rapids, MI

7 Replies

I'm new to Bigger Pockets, but love all of the information I've found so far. I'm in the Grand Rapids, MI area and I have just purchased my first rental. I'm looking to buy more in the future and I would like to expand my real estate network. Any suggestions on networking events or clubs in the area would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Hi @Jeremy Scherer ,

Check out the RPOA (rpoaonline.org) for a great deal of information regarding rentals, and a lot more.  It has a paid membership, but I have found it well worth it.  

Another group is the West Michigan Real Estate Investors Club (www.meetup.com/westmichiganreiclub).  This is a group that currently meets once a month at Buffalo Wild Wings in Wyoming, and typically has at least 40 members at each meeting.  They happen to have a meeting tonight at 6 PM, if you're available!

I find great value in both groups.  However, you can take my word for a grain of salt, since I help organize some things for both groups.  (:  

Hi @Brandon Krieg ,

Thanks for the information.  I will look into RPOA.  Unfortunately on short notice I can't make the West Michigan Real Estate Investors Club meeting tonight, but I will look for info on the date for next month and put it on my calendar.

Thanks again for your help!

Welcome! We just bought our 10th property in Grand Rapids. Love this market. Not as many great deals today but on the flip side there is plenty of demand!! Good luck to you!

Welcome Jeremy, congrats on your first rental purchase!  I'm in Jenison and am still looking to buy my first rental.  I can attest that the RPOA and West Michigan Real Estate Investors Club are great places to network.  I've attended the WMREI club meetings twice so far and have made lots of great contacts, and the people are very friendly, open, and willing to answer questions.  And even posting here on BP has led to some very helpful contacts in the Grand Rapids area.

Mark