• Chicago
Votes |
1st Bad Deal Gone Good

Soniel Estime
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Chicago
Posted Oct 31 2020, 10:35

Hello Everyone,

I had a few people request an update on my progress with my first RE investment. For those who don’t know, of my past struggles, I’ll provide a not so quick recap.

On October 2018 I closed on my first rental property. I was so excited, I studied real estate for one year before pulling the trigger. Little did I know that no amount of reading, or podcast listening could prepare me for the real-life struggles of real estate investing. Don’t get me wrong, studying helped me mitigate some risk and learn some strategies that saved my butt. I am just saying there is no comparison to real life experiences. How does the saying go, “everyone has a plan until they get punched in the mouth.” I found myself getting hit with several jabs and an uppercut.

I acquired the property for 55k, I used an FHA 203k loan which had a rehab budget of 120K. My interest rate was 5.7%, (yeah I know, pretty high compared to now). This was a duplex in a C- area. My plan was to complete the rehab in 6 months, move into the property and rent out the top unit, having it pay for most of my mortgage. Then I would refi, drop the mortgage payment interest & PMI. I would live there for about 2 to 3 years then move out and rent my unit out. I guess you can say that I accomplished these goals, but I took one hell of a beating along the way.