Can you use hard money loans to buy foreclosures

21 Replies

Hello everyone, I'm a fresh newbie to real estate investing. I'm located in Austin TX and looking to invest in the metropolitan areas because I keep seeing location, location, location. Anyways, this is my first post and I'm scrolling on a wholesale website where foreclosures and motivated sellers are choices. I wanted to know if you can use a hard money lender to buy a foreclosure that needs minimal to no rehab?

@Donovan Curry

Sure! But why would you do that if it needs no rehab?

Hard money loans are not for long term holding property. Most of them are 6 month loans with points paid for extensions. You can use hard money if you need to close really quick and then do permanent financing starting right after closing. That can work fine.

Promotion
Obie Insurance
Coverage for your rental
Get a quote for your rental property in 2 minutes or less.
Save on landlord insurance. A transparent, simple, and affordable way to protect your investment.
Start Saving

@Donovan Curry If you're looking to buy and flip, you're going to lose money buying home with HML that doesn't need rehab. If you bought it at $100k, you're easily going to pay $3k in points and $4k in closing costs to buy, and then to resell could be another $6-8k. So ultimately losing $15k + in that transaction.

The value comes from buying and rehabbing, and forcing appreciation.

Hope that helps!

Originally posted by @Donovan Curry:

@Tom S. This definitely helps. I spoke with a few lenders today and talked through some of the other expenses.

Basically getting a distressed house thats ARV is high compared to purchase price is where you should start?

correct..  also be very careful of advanced fee schemes that are rampant on the internet and here on BP you may get a PM