New Investor from Newton, MA

8 Replies

Hey everyone,

My name is Kevin from Newton, MA. I graduated from UMass Amherst two years ago and am currently working as a Software Developer in Boston. My first two years out of school I was focused on paying off my loans and using the spare money I had to invest in stocks. My return on investment in stocks have not done that well and I've come to realize that I need/want to invest my money in something that can generate more of a passive income.

During the past month I've been reading a ton of real estate books (including The Book On Rental Property Investing) during my morning and evening commutes to and from work. I am particularly interested in the buy and hold strategy because I think that sort of investment fits my lifestyle. I've been looking at a ton of single family/condos in certain areas around Boston just to get an idea of how much things cost in certain areas.

My plan for the next half year-year is to save up as much as I can and hopefully buy a single family house or condo that can generate me a cashflow of $200/month.

A month ago I knew absolutely nothing about real estate. This is the beginning of the journey for me and I am excited to be joining the BiggerPockets community! I would love to connect/chat with anyone around the area!

Kevin

Welcome kevin

I been investing in real estate for 7 years. Let me know if you have any questions. I also live in newton, have the same last name, and I graduated from UMass Amherst too (Unfortunately not 2 yrs ago.) Good luck with your journey