New Member With Big Dreams

8 Replies

Hey everyone. I’m Nick from Purvis, Mississippi and I’m looking forward to learning as much as I can about real estate investing.

I’m a full-time mechanical engineer and a Captain in the Mississippi Army National Guard. I’m currently a Company Commander of a combat engineer company and have been away from my family training for 3 months will an immediate follow on deployment to Kuwait for the last 8 months. One more month till I go home!

I’ve always been motivated and driven to succeed but only since January 2017 did I start to take action towards my goals. I’ve tried and failed at a number of different business ventures (got a closet full of fidget spinners I couldn’t sell as a reminder). I had no direction or real plan on how to achieve my goals.

Being deployed, especially as a Commander, taught me some valuable lessons. Mostly, I learned that no one cares. No one cares that you lack experience. No one cares that it’s hard. No one cares that you can’t be in 4 places at once. What matters is taking action and achieving the result. I learned that despite my lack of experience, consistently moving forward and small improvements each day can make a massive change in your life.

I had three goals when I took Command and brought my guys overseas.

1 – Bring everyone home alive.

2 – Save enough money to pay down my debts and bring my wife home from a 9-5 job.

3 – Figure out what my goals were and how to achieve them within 3-5 years.

Thus far, I’ve achieved all of those things (knock on wood, I still have one more month before all my guys are home). I have been lurking on around BiggerPockets for a while now but now I’m ready to take action. I look forward to moving forward and learning everything I can.

Thanks everyone.

-Nick

Hi Captain Davis,