Rehabbing and House Flipping - NJ & NY

6 Replies

Hello fellow rehabbers, I am just starting out and wanted to know if anyone's having success in this area, if so:

What are your favorite markets for flipping in New Jersey and New York?

Are you focusing on lipstick deals or major rehab deals?

What's the average purchase price you go after?

9086927366 | http://builtbyjmc.com

Originally posted by @Michael Rubino :

Hello fellow rehabbers, I am just starting out and wanted to know if anyone's having success in this area, if so:

What are your favorite markets for flipping in New Jersey and New York?

Are you focusing on lipstick deals or major rehab deals?

What's the average purchase price you go after?

While I mostly focused in buy-and-hold, I do know quite a few people doing flips in the NJ area. In NJ, you might want to check out Union County.  Price point is around $350-450k retail value.

Unless you move to a higher price point areas (ie. closer to $1mm), or you get the deal extremely cheap, it is very very difficult to find a major rehab deal that would make sense.  As an example, in the area where I focus in (Jersey City excluding the nice, developed areas), I can't even possibly develop a new built 2family house there.  The reason is because it costs more to build a house than a "new" house in the neighborhood would be worth.

@Michael Rubino search your county for all the cash sales and see where people are actually investing in your area. That will give you a very good idea of what price point investors are buying at. My brother and I are about to start our first rehab in Merchantville 1 hour away from where we live. It needs a roof, kitchen and the rest is mostly cosmetic. Anyway that's where we at right now but we'll be stepping it up very soon :)