New to BP and Starting out in REI

10 Replies

Hello everyone! As stated in the title, I am new to BP and new to REI. I am also new to the Houston, TX area. I joined BP after reading many of the posts in multiple forums and realizing what a wealth of knowledge and experience there is here. I would like to take a brief moment to introduce myself. My name is Tina Daughtry. I have a BSN, MSN, and MBA along with multiple certifications. However, I do not have ANY experience in REI. My credit is good, but I have limited funds for investing. I recently made the decision to move to Houston, where I have no family and only a few friends, because I felt like it was a great place to begin my REI career and business. I prayed about it and felt like God confirmed that Houston would be my starting place. I have been to two of my local REI clubs' workshops already and plan to continue to visit more meetings and workshops. My goal is to get as much education about REI as I possibly can and find a mentor so that I can begin my journey to financial freedom and quitting my present job. I have found this part to be more difficult than I anticipated because there are many people who are not genuine and who are not truly looking to educate and mentor. I am not looking for something for nothing by any means, but I do have a high level of integrity and I expect that to be reciprocated. I love meeting and talking to people from all walks of life and am just a genuine person, in general. I'm a Leo so I tend to be very passionate about things that are important to me, i.e. religion and spirituality, family and friends, education and learning, my career and goals, etc. I'm extremely driven and motivated and determined that nothing will stop me from achieving any of my goals. I am looking forward to connecting with people on this site and in my area. In addition, any advice, suggestions, opinions, etc. that anyone who is experienced in REI, or just in general, can offer is greatly appreciated!