1st Time Home Buyer, How can I get the best deal?

4 Replies

Hello every one, thanks in advance for your insight. I have plans to buy my first home, but i dont want to just do it the traditional way, I would like to be able to buy something with as much discount as possible and be able to do some rehab, get immediate equity and live in it for a few years and then resell. I have also read quite a bit on how to Identify potential preforclosure houses on the county's website (or equivalent) listings, If I were to have about 20% down for a 250K home, and a bit more for rehab, would this be the best way to go about this? Or would you recommend going the forclosure/HUD route?...or any other advise is welcomed( Charlotte NC) Thank you!!!

What you want to do is what my husband and I have been doing for the past 12 years, we have been doing it this way which is the way it has worked for us:

Our first home was a traditional sale FHA the house was outdated it needed a lot of work in kitchen and bathrooms plus carpet, we lived there for a few years mean while we were fixing it little by little with money out of our pockets the home cost us $117k we sold it for $220k, with that money we bought a piece of land (more like a lot) for $35k and built a house on it for $60k sold that one for $120k, we were fortunate to sale the house when price of homes here in AZ were really low we were able to by 2 houses with 120K but they were foreclosures and one needed a lot of work the other one also need some work but not as much so we lived in that one till we finished fixing both up the one that needed a lot of work (ugly one) cost us $40k and we put $20K into it we rent that one out now for $900 per month we are holding it for a few years to avoid paying a lot of taxes, the house has recently been appraised for $136K we have had the house for 2 years.