Investing in Allentown, PA?

23 Replies

Hello, any investors have experience in Allentown, PA? I have been looking on a few real estate sites and see some low prices on SFHs. Are there areas to avoid here? Any advice would be helpful. I know nothing of the area.

@Eric DeVito

The Allentown zip code break down:

18104 = West-end, most desirable

18109 = East-side, similar desirability to 18103

18103 = South-side, similar desirability to 18109

18102 = Center city, lowest prices, least desirable

I'll buy 18102, but I am an experienced landlord times 18 years.  NOT for the beginner or the soft -hearted.  

Originally posted by @Eric E. :

I'll buy 18102, but I am an experienced landlord times 18 years.  NOT for the beginner or the soft -hearted.  

I understand. Yes I am a beginner  from Staten Island, NY. What do you recommend then? What if I I used property management.

Originally posted by @Mark Gallagher :

@Eric DeVito

The Allentown zip code break down:

18104 = West-end, most desirable

18109 = East-side, similar desirability to 18103

18103 = South-side, similar desirability to 18109

18102 = Center city, lowest prices, least desirable

Thanks, I will take a look. Any other areas you recommend?

@Eric DeVito I personally like the Bethlehem areas. South Bethlehem, North Bethlehem and West Bethlehem.  But I do know a lot of people who do invest in Allentown and do well. I actually see a lot of people trying to rent my places in Bethlehem that are trying to move out of Allentown.

Thanks

Rich

I'm a beginning investor  and have been looking at the Bethlehem area myself. @Rich Vogel are you targeting the college housing market in the area? I've been thinking in that direction but don't know enough yet about the special circumstances that could go along with that market.