Carl Fischer, CamaMan, New member intro-Florida and Philly area

3 Replies

I was born in NJ-Carl Fischer- and raised in Ft Lauderdale. I learned from my parents and grand parents at a young age, about real estate and mail box money. I earned my engineering degree form Cornell University and launched rockets at Kennedy Space Center and Cape Canaveral AFS for 19 years.  I purchased my first piece of real estate in 1979 , developed it and still own it today. I bought it with owner financing as I had no credit and college bills to pay. My predominate strategy has been a "Buy and Hold" and I prefer commercial real estate to residential.  I have developed, built and owned many types of properties including apartment buildings, warehouses, retail, office, multifamily and single family properties. 

I have owned real estate in multiple states including FL, NY, NJ, PA, WI, TX, & NC. My biggest contribution to the business was the introduction of self directed IRAs and the tax free income associated with the real estate assets. I liked real estate IRAs so much that I founded CamaPlan, with my sister Maggie, a national self directed IRA company. I am a huge believer in the Roth IRAs, Health Savings Accounts (HSA), and Coverdell Educational Savings Accounts (CESA). I have owned and operated a construction company, a property management company, and a mortgage broker company as well.

I want to improve my real estate business with the use of technologies to minimize cost and maximize efficiency thus increasing my free time.  I am working to move as much income as possible to be tax free for my life as well as my grand-children.  I like the fact that passive income will provide retirement needs, health insurance, and education for family members.  I like the income produced from  real estate and the financial freedom it has and continues to provide me.