Kyle - New, striving-to-be, investor from Salem, Indiana

9 Replies

Good morning everyone!

After joining the site about a month ago and listening to nearly all of the BP podcasts I'm here to introduce myself. As the subject line shows, I'm Kyle and I'm from Salem Indiana, a small town in Southern Indiana. I'm a Biomedical Technician in the dialysis field and I was a brick/block mason several years ago in a former life, so I have some construction background as well.

I have only purchased two properties with both being fix and flip. I'm still living in the second of those properties and getting close to the point of selling and purchasing another property, or two. 

I kind of accidentally became interested in the world of real estate. I initially had the idea of upgrading homes until I could afford my "dream home" which everyone always see's in their head until I realized that a 30 year mortgage and busting my hump to make ends meet every week didn't quite make sense. I'm not immune to hard work, I'm used to it, but I thought there had to be a better way. That's when my current property kind of fell in my lap and I realized that I could fix it and sell it for a substantial profit. With that thought in mind I began researching the world of real estate and it led me to these wonderful podcasts on YouTube called BiggerPockets. Anyone heard of them? lol

Anyways, the more I listened and researched I started thinking seeing that other people were doing the same thing I had in mind and I figured if they can, then why can't I? So here I am. 

Long term I'm interested in revenue generating income via buy and hold rentals. Now, the question is how to get there and how quickly can I gain enough confidence and knowledge to make this dream become a reality.  

If anyone has any questions or comments, I'd love to hear them. 

Have a great day everyone!