Newbie in Los Angeles investing in Texas

21 Replies

Good morning BP community!

My name is Kevin Orozco and I'm a newbie in Los Angles, CA. I currently work as an assistant for a broker at CBRE and I plan on purchasing my first investment property this year (2016) in Dallas and hopefully Austin, TX. I'm eager to learn from experienced professionals and local market experts. Please add me if you are familiar with any of those markets or would like to connect. I look forward to speaking with all of you!

Respectfully,
Kevin Orozco

Hello Kevin,

Welcome to the market area! I'm in Austin and work as a director of renovations for the United States largest multifamily management company. I am also looking at investing in my first multi unit property this year and would love to discuss opportunities if you have an interest in networking here.

Hi, Kevin! I just got a duplex in Arlington, TX. It's near Dallas. I'm using it to try this out-of-state-landlording thing. Not sure how it's going to work out yet. Send me a note if you want to chat. I'll tell you my "adventures" so far, lol.

Originally posted by @Account Closed :

@Kevin Orozco  What types of properties are you interested in purchasing?

Hello Michael, well a good buddy of mine is going to be moving to Dallas in April/May and we wanted to go half on his FHA loan for our first rental property (he will also be living in the property), I wanted to use my FHA loan on a property here in California and a year from now 1031 it into a cash flowing duplex, triplex, or quad in either Austin or Dallas. I'm mainly looking for rental properties inside the downtown of the city or in a neighborhood with great schools.

Originally posted by @Fay Chen :

Hi, Kevin! I just got a duplex in Arlington, TX. It's near Dallas. I'm using it to try this out-of-state-landlording thing. Not sure how it's going to work out yet. Send me a note if you want to chat. I'll tell you my "adventures" so far, lol.