New Investor from Maryland!

36 Replies

Hello everyone,

My name is Michelle and I'm a new investor, located in Montgomery County, MD. I'm a young professional working at a large accounting firm in the Tyson's Corner area of Northern Virginia and currently live at home with my parents. 

I'm really excited to find the BiggerPockets community and look forward to starting my real estate investment journey! I've looked around a bit on the forums and read some stories. I've also attended one meeting of a real estate investment club.

Right now, I'm thinking I might like to buy a property and rent it out as a cash flow property, but I'm also considering a situation where I buy a property with a couple of bedrooms and have roommates instead. It's pretty expensive in this area either way but I'm also open to buying my first home elsewhere. I have seen suggestions to buy a duplex or triplex which would be great, but I'm not sure any in the area are close enough to my work. I'm currently saving up for a down payment and I'm hoping to start looking at places summer of 2016. 

I'm looking forward to building my wealth through real estate and be able to generate enough passive income to achieve financial freedom and the lifestyle I want. I'd like to have a portfolio of rental properties and expand from there. I think I'd be interested in multifamily properties as well, but it seems a little daunting right now. I'm open to other opportunities as well. Eventually, I think it'd be really great to have properties all over the country, including Hawaii, and internationally as well.

Aside from my real estate investing goals, I hope to use the money I earn from real estate to finance entrepreneurial activities, including my interests in music, the arts, education, as well as philanthropy to make the world a better place.

Looking forward to hearing from you!