Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Fakaradin Floyd
Votes |
Is rental arbitrage a good idea?

Fakaradin Floyd
Posted Dec 21 2021, 18:56

Hey everyone I'm a 22-year-old that just graduated from the University of Buffalo, I graduated with a bachelor's in Computer Science, for about 2 years I've been researching and strategizing on how to become financially free as soon as possible. Through a plethora of ways, investing in stocks, developing and investing in side hustles that aren't too labor extensive, and so on.

Lucky for me, I got a job straight out of school through the power of networking, and landed a job in Reston, VA as a software engineer. I noticed the area that I'm moving to (or plan to move to) costs a bit much for buying a house, so I decided that I'll rent for my living spaces, and decided since I don't have a ton of money upfront, I will invest in rental arbitrage where I rent out a space, furnish it and Airbnb the space under some LLC.

I'm not sure if this is a great idea, and I don't really know much about real estate, but I definitely know I want to invest in this path. Any advice, information, and I would love if anyone could give me some insight on the housing market in North VA.

Thank you!

User Stats

Votes
Karl McGarvey
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Houston, TX
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Houston, TX
Replied Dec 22 2021, 06:33

"It Depends"

Could it be great allowing you to do some STR with a landlords permission if you run the business the right way? Sure!

But I would look at all of the people at the beginning of COVID who were stuck with leases that they had to pay for regardless of if STR was allowed in their area or not during the pandemic. A lot of people got upside down very very quickly trying to find ways out of their leases because the arbitrage business model failed for that event.