Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Breann Acuna
Votes |
Duplex Strategy Question

Breann Acuna
Posted Oct 19 2022, 11:58

Newbie here and hoping to make my first investment property a duplex. Would it makes sense to use one unit for LTR and the other for STR? My thought process is an LTR could offer more stable/ consistent cash flow and just seems less risky. While an STR could bring in more money, it may be less consistent or even seasonal maybe? Because this would be my first property, I don't think I'll have enough cash to fully furnish both units for an STR approach, so it's either one unit or just pursue LTR's for both units. Thoughts on this strategy?

For reference, I'm looking at Lubbock Texas and hoping an STR would appeal to travel nurses, or visitors to Texas Tech.

User Stats

Votes
Michael Dumler
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Atlanta, GA
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Atlanta, GA
Replied Oct 19 2022, 12:05

@Breann Acuna, I can't speak on behalf of the Lubbock, TX market, but to my understanding, the consensus for duplex STRs is they don't perform that well. Furthermore, what are lease comps indicating? I would do a quick search on STR platforms such as Airbnb and VRBO to gauge what style of home is attracting tenants. All this being said, if you're sourcing for traveling nurses, a large part of your investment strategy will be dependent on location since the subject property will have to be within proximity of a hospital. Hope this all makes sense and helps!

User Stats

Votes
Breann Acuna
Votes |
Replied Oct 19 2022, 12:10

@Michael Dumler Got it, thank you!

BiggerPockets logo
Find, Vet and Invest in Syndications
|
BiggerPockets
PassivePockets will help you find sponsors, evaluate deals, and learn how to invest with confidence.

User Stats

Votes
Travis Turner
Property Manager
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Lubbock, TX
Votes |
Property Manager
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Lubbock, TX
Replied Oct 19 2022, 13:37
Quote from @Breann Acuna: