Steps to take to become an REO agent

25 Replies

Hey all,
I was just wondering how all of you REO agents started out and got listing from asset managers. Since I invest in foreclosures and I'm an agent. I wanted to know what steps to take to potentially get listings down to road.
Do I just sign up on all the REO sites? What extra could I be doing on equator.com?
Any info is greatly appreciated.
Thanks!

Well, that's a great question. I used to actively do REO (until I started doing more investing) and I did a silly video on YouTube of how to do it.  

Good question though!

@Karl Krentzel
Great video Karl! Very informative, thanks!

Cory, I think BP member @Mark Ferguson is an REO listing agent and he may be a good person to speak to.

Medium jcrp logoJames Park MBA, Johns Creek Realty Partners LLC | [email protected] | 678‑865‑6250 | http://www.johnscreekrealtypartners.com | GA Agent # Broker 344981, CA Agent # Broker 01894781, GA Lender # NMLS 157229

Mark Ferguson
Thanks for the sites. I will check them out and your blog as well.

You need to start doing BPO's and lots of them. Find some of the servicers that the banks use, like Nationstar Mortgage, IServe and others. Also try the Bank of America website. There is turnover as many agents tire of all the work involved. That said, you need to know what you are getting into. Talk to an REO agent in your area and find out how much work they have to do. I think you may be surprised at all the tasks the listing agent is required to do. It is a lot of work!!! Also you cannot buy any of the REO's that you list. Good luck.

Kevin Page thanks for the info. I was unaware that I cannot buy any of the properties.
Could I buy it under an LLC.?

Cory of course you couldn't buy properties. That would make the selling process tainted.

As a listing broker you have a responsibility to get the best price and terms for the asset and to be impartial.