Syracuse, NY

20 Replies

Hello guys/gals,

I'm a beginner in Syracuse, NY and looking to get into the game. I'm looking for my first multifamily investment which will be an owner occupied property. I'm looking to link up with an investor friendly real estate agent to help me find the right property to get my business going on the right foot. Thanks 

Good afternoon, I'm starting to look in Solvay/Tipp Hill, outer Comstock, Eastwood, Valley area. Going for my pre approval next week. All I need is this first property and I'm off and running. How about you?

@Greg B.   @Craig Shute  

Welcome. Time to build the foundation below.

Check out the Start Here page http://www.biggerpockets.com/starthere

Check out BiggerPockets Ultimate Beginner's Guide - A fantastic free book that walks through many of the key topics of real estate investing.

Check out the free BiggerPockets Podcast - A weekly podcast with interviews and a ton of great advice. And you get the benefit of having over 70 past ones to catch up on.

Two Great reads, I bought both J. Scott The Book on Flipping Houses,The Book on Estimating ReHab Costshttp://www.biggerpockets.com/flippingbook

Locate and attend 3 different local REIA club meetings great place to meet people gather resources and info. Here you will meet wholesalers who provide deals and all the cash buyers (rehabbers) you will need.

Consider checking out HUD homes for small multi's owner occupied gets first crack.

You might consider Niche or Specialized Housing like student housing. Rents can be 2-4 times more. Remember you don't have to own a property to control it.

Download BP’s newest book here some good due diligence in Chapter 10. Real Estate Rewind Starting over

http://www.biggerpockets.com/files/user/brandonatbp/file/real-estate-rewind-a-biggerpockets-community-book

Good luck

Paul