Closed on 155 Units in Houston Yesterday! 3 Lessons Learned...

30 Replies

Yesterday my biz partners and I closed on 155 units in Houston. It's my 3rd syndicated deal. My first was a 168 unit, second 250 units and this one is 155 units. In case you missed it, here are the 2 lessons I learned from my 250 unit deal I closed on last August: https://www.biggerpockets.com/forums/223/topics/217842-closed-on-250-apartments-in-houston-texas-yesterday-2-lessons-learned

Now, let's get to the lessons learned on this 155 unit. 

1. Go farther, faster by playing to your strengths. 

My first deal syndicated deal I did it all. Found the deal, did the underwriting, raised the money, did the due diligence, hired all team members and coordinated with them, closed, asset mgmt, etc.

Great experience but I didn't set the deal up for optimal success because, quite frankly, I'm not an expert at some of those things. For example, underwriting. I'm competent and know how to evaluate if a deal is good or not but I don't have thousands of hours under my belt strictly focused on underwriting deals. And, like most things, the more you do it the better you get. 

So, I learned on this deal that I needed to partner with someone who is phenomenal at underwriting large multifamily deals. I actually partnered up with him on my 250 units and this deal re-enforced the need to do it again because it allows me to do what I'm good at and him to do what he's good at. We're both able to do each other's job but wouldn't do as good of a job. 

This allows the biz to go farther, faster because I'm focused on my craft and he's focused on his craft. Yes, there's overlap as I triple check all underwriting and review in detail but it's better for someone with lots of experience to be the primary underwriter.