Votes
Skylar Dejesus
  • Johnson City, TN
Votes |
WOW!! What a long way in 3 years!!

Skylar Dejesus
  • Johnson City, TN
Posted Oct 29 2018, 14:59

Okay this may be a long post.. but it is amazing what persistence can accomplish... When I first got into real estate investing I'd say about 4 years ago is when I joined bigger pockets and I would continuously read the success stories and wonder how these things were accumulating for these other investors and how they were able to scale. I will give a brief run down of my story and why I am posting in the success stories although there is so much farther to go.

I graduated college got a 9-5 at Fedex and thought I was doing well at life like I had been taught. I was going to go get a masters degree when a guy at work gave me a book called 'Rich Dad Poor Dad'. He told me I should consider reading the book before going back to school. The book blew my mind! It single handily changed my life.  I had always wondered what separated the rich and poor and after reading this book I had an extreme epiphany. I immediately wanted to start investing in mulitfamily real estate. I figured if I continued to work my job I could save 20k year and buy one property a year then year 2 buy two properties and have my portfolio snowball that way.  After a 6-8 months of trying and failing, reading as many books as I could get my greasy hands on, and constantly networking and looking for properties I finally found a triplex I bought in August 2015.