• Investor
  • Little Rock, AR
Votes |
Best One Yet

Don Hines
  • Investor
  • Little Rock, AR
Posted May 24 2012, 05:47

My wife and I were originally looking for a smaller house on a couple of acres that will accomadate our boats, campers, and other toys. And actually, we were finding homes that suited our needs, but were just not right. A realtor called us back with a new listing (her's) a couple of days after we explored open houses.
Breakdown...
2700 ft on 10 acres, 2 half acre ponds, deer, turkey, atv riding. The exterior needs a roof and siding but, the interior is cleaner than any rehab project we have ever seen. In fact, you could move right into it now. It is extremely dated; however it is not tore up like we are accustomed to seeing in projects.
I am not experienced in comping land. Using county appraisals and what comps I can find I place the ARV between $300k and $350k. I have the rehab at $60k. To make the wife happy it is closer to $80k.
It was listed at $185K. It has been on the market at $500k before. I have it under contract for $130,000!!!!!
It will close in a couple of weeks. We are putting the current residence up for sale. When it sells and all of the smoke clears, besides living in a place I have never dreamed of, we will have reduced the monthly budget by $300 per month. Also, we will have enough cash left over from equity in our current home to pay off our vehicles and put an additional $1100 per month in the bank.
I am conserveative enough to know not to be counting chickens in the eggs. But, I am pumped. This is one of those deals you see on TV and proves the business is viable. We have even considered flipping it after a couple of years for an additional $100 grand or more in the bank.