Who started investing AFTER having kids while working full-time?

14 Replies

I'm looking for some inspiration. I'm working full time while my wife stays home with our kids until they're both school age (so about another 4 years). My wife is slowly starting to get interested in investing with me. Right now we're focusing on finding a family-friendly house hack around Baltimore with the long term goal of investing in mobile home parks, but the pickings have been slim (or maybe I'm just two picky). So my questions for you:

How did you balance family and work life with finding deals and managing your properties? What investment strategies did you use (house hack, SFH rentals, MF rentals, flipping, wholesaling, etc)? Any general advice for someone in my situation?

I was a full time lawyer with a stay at home wife and two non-school age kids when I started.  It's tough but doable.  You get up early and do what you can before works starts, you work on lunch breaks, you work in the evening, and you work on weekends.  My wife (now ex-wife, though that had nothing do with real estate) helped out on the first rental, but then she pretty much dropped out and left it all to me.  You have to learn to delegate and find good people to rely on.  You have to develop good systems for management.  Nice thing about BP is that pretty much everything has been done before so you don't have to reinvent the wheel.  For me, the greater risk was always do nothing, rather than doing something and failing or getting overwhelmed.  

@John Chapman That's helpful knowing you were able to do it in what little spare time you had! As long as my kids aren't waking up, I spend 4:30-5:30 am working on finding deals as well as any downtime I have during the work day. Thanks for the advice!

Originally posted by @Ken Swearengen :