• Investor
  • San Antonio, TX
Votes |
Angi Leads/ Home Advisor

Aaron Lee
  • Investor
  • San Antonio, TX
Posted Oct 29 2021, 14:17

Any contractors using Angi Leads/ Home Advisor consistently? Got on the phone with one of their reps today and seemed more like a used car sales then a true service. I got on google and read through about 5-6 pages of reviews and seemed to be a 50-50 shot on whether or not it worked well for the contractors. I.e. too many customers not going through with the job and still being billed for the connection, or monthly charges that may or may not have been previously discussed? 

For context I have about 7 years experience in Handyman (and started my electrical license before going to the navy) and have just gone into business for myself. Looking for a good boost to get my feet off the ground, and trying to get opinions on whether this is a smart move.

Thank you for any input, customer and contractor side. As well I am in the San Antonio/Hill Country area in Texas, if that helps with any reference to the situation either.

Thank you again,

Aaron

User Stats

Votes
Caleb Lane
  • Realtor
  • Indian Rocks Beach, Fl
Votes |
  • Realtor
  • Indian Rocks Beach, Fl
Replied Oct 29 2021, 17:27

I think Angie's list is outdated now that you can search anything you want on google. If I were starting out as a handyman I would focus on word of mouth referral, setting up my own google business listing for clients and previous clients to leave positive reviews and maybe getting in on one of the gig apps such as thumbtack, etc. Angie's list has turned into the yellow pages and many people don't turn to it as a trusted source anymore. Share on facebook and instagram what you are doing now and that you want to help others. Share useful handyman tips on your social media consistently and people will start to trust you as a professional.

User Stats

Votes
Aaron Lee
  • Investor
  • San Antonio, TX
Votes |
  • Investor
  • San Antonio, TX