Votes |
I have money, how do I get started?

Albert Velasquez
Pro Member
  • New to Real Estate
  • Bolingbrook, IL
Posted Mar 27 2022, 01:26

Hi BP, 

I have a good amount of money from an inheritance. I want to get started in REI, but I have zero experience. I have learned a lot in the last month. I was thinking of finding someone to partner on a BRRRR with. Any advice on how to go about this? I would like to invest locally.

Thank you guys!

User Stats

Votes
Joe Villeneuve
Pro Member
#4 All Forums Contributor
  • Plymouth, MI
Votes |
Pro Member
#4 All Forums Contributor
  • Plymouth, MI
Replied Mar 27 2022, 01:38

Partnering at the start is a good idea, but be careful what terms you get as a partner. One month of information isn't going to give you enough knowledge to get started. You need to learn how to "use" that money...not "spend" it. Spending it gets you only one use out of it. Using it means no matter how many times you try to spend it, it keeps coming back with friends (CF and/or Profit) and you can use it all over again. The BRRRR method is NOT an example of this. The BRRRR method is not using your money over and over. Every time you refi, you are buying money from the bank, not using your money again. It it was you money you were using, you wouldn't be paying for it every time you refi.

User Stats

Votes
Benjamin Aaker
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Brandon, SD
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Brandon, SD
Replied Mar 27 2022, 06:28