Verify a private lender?

49 Replies

Hey so I’m in need of advise since I’m new to investing. I possibly have a couple deals I’m partnering with ppl. I found someone who is potentially going to fund my deal for 3% interest and $500 up front cost to loan 25k. Does it seem legit? Looked for him on Facebook and looked for the business website but couldn’t find anything. Help and advise would be appreciated

Seems like they're asking for a very low % on their money for a complete stranger. I'd be cautious, maybe try and get some face time with the person to put a face to the name.

Ryan

Absolute scam  no one does this except your mom or dad.... facebook is a joke in my mind for finding lenders

Originally posted by @Jay Hinrichs :

Absolute scam  no one does this except your mom or dad.... facebook is a joke in my mind for finding lenders

@Daniel Ordonez - Jay pretty much summed it up. Plan to pay 10%+ for private money, otherwise it's too good to be true...especially if they want any sort of fees up front. 

all these guys do is suck 500.00 out of you and you never hear from them again.. its the nigerian prince scam just in the real estate space

this is a situation were a credit card advance may be appropriate its small dollars.

well then what about proper or one of those sites.. there is NO private lender that is going to loan you unsecured money for a real estate deal .. unless its your warm market someone you know and that loves you.. thats kind of the reality of that.

Originally posted by @Tendai Soley :

You may have to search for "Hard Money Lenders" in your area. 

he is in San Jose he is looking to participate in a gap funding deal which is usually second position.. to do that you need cash you don't borrow money to do it. in San jose average price for a home is pert near 1 million .. so you know 25k is not much money to play in that sand box and defiantly not anything a HML would even remotely look at.