Lock selection by landlords

48 Replies

which brand of locks do you use at your rentals?

The good stuff Medeco? Baldwin?

Middle of the road Schlage?

Lower end kwikset?

Or even Defiant from the home depot?

I used to use medeco, impossible to get in with a bump key, but to duplicate a key you need to send in a code and pay $25 for one key. Too much hassle.

But then for properties with glass lite doors or French doors does it really matter?

Would also be interested in properties in rehab, where there is no coverage for theft and burglary, and you have expensive tools, materials and appliances in staging areas. What type of locks do you use? Do you install an alarm system while rehabbing?

I use Kwikset Smart Key locks on all my properties. Rural Missouri is very different from Fort Lauderdale, however.

As I said in another thread I strongly recommend Landlordlocks. More expensive to buy at first but takes seconds to rekey. I've been using these for ten years and fully endorse them. And if you have a problem they have great customer service. Did I mention that many of Ernie's workers are Amish?

Promotion
PassiveInvesting.com
Private Real Estate Syndication Team
ATTENTION: Learn the 7 Red Flags for Passive Apartment Investing
Do you want to learn how to know if you are investing with a good operator? Check this out now.
Read Article Now

100% agree with @Cal C. - if you're not using LLL then you should be. They do have a website that I pretty much use as a catalogue (I don't order off of it). The site is a bit clunky, but as soon as I know what I want (or if I've ordered it in the past) I call them and give them my name and what I want. If it's similar to a past order (I almost always order a deadbolt and handleset) then I ask them to look that up and give me X of this and Y of that.