OOS Newbie to Milwaukee

14 Replies

Hello! My name is Amy. I am a structural engineer and a newbie OOS investor looking at the Milwaukee area. I'd love to make connections and build a wonderful team. Anybody have tips or tricks for this market? I may not be able to buy you a coffee these days, but as a former general contractor, I can swap renovation ideas and problem solving. Can't wait to hear from you!

@Brandon Sturgill thank you! I sure hope to do well. I've loved real estate my whole life and am finally in a good position to start diving in.

I chose Milwaukee for a couple reasons, but no personal connections. I quickly realized my local market is a dud for both properties and property management, and all the nearby states are very expensive and hot. I'm also interested in Omaha and Ohio (family in the regions), but after reading the forums for a couple weeks, Milwaukee started looking really good as a start point. So here I am, hoping to talk to some locals and get their take on it :)

I live and invest in the Milwaukee area.  I personally prefer some of the tertiary markets surrounding MIlwaukee.  The first step IMO is to connect with a good PM.  They will be able to provide you with local market knowledge.

Hi Amy--

Nice to meet you. My name is Rebecca and my husband and I have run Captain Save a Home LLC, Brew City REI Club, Brew City REI Training Cafe and Wisconsin Contractor and Handyman Club based out of Milwaukee, WI for the past 8 years.

Have you determined what neighborhoods of Milwaukee County that you will be buying in?