Rehabbing & House Flipping

User Stats

Votes
Aaron Maggard
Votes |
Rehab estimator help

Aaron Maggard
Posted Apr 24 2023, 14:39

I'm trying to use the rehab estimating tool for the first time. It makes no sense to me. I'm getting negative numbers for builders labor and some numbers wouldn't purchase the item. Is there a video? I'm feeling stupid. I'm NOT new to this. I've been a builder for 3 decades. BP / Kukun has me stumped.  

User Stats

Votes
Randy Rodenhouse
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Charleston, SC
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Charleston, SC
Replied Apr 24 2023, 14:56

Yes I find that calculator very user unfriendly and it doesn't seem to work. I have a simple rehab analysis worksheet that I created but you have to know what things costs (labor and material) since it does not estimate costs.

User Stats

Votes
Eliott Elias#3 BRRRR - Buy, Rehab, Rent, Refinance, Repeat Contributor
  • Investor
  • Austin, TX
Votes |
Eliott Elias#3 BRRRR - Buy, Rehab, Rent, Refinance, Repeat Contributor
  • Investor
  • Austin, TX
Replied Apr 24 2023, 16:48

Stop using online tools, get contractors to walk your properties and bid the job. 

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Andy Sabisch
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Wilkes-Barre, PA
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Wilkes-Barre, PA
Replied Apr 24 2023, 19:13
The problem with most of the estimating tools is that they are outdated as soon as they are published without links to get current prices in your area.  The generalities often produce poor results and the unit prices are often way off.  We have tried inputting reno costs after we complete a project and the results are nowhere near what they should have been.